2017 IBM Ph.D. Fellowship awardees

IBM created the Ph.D. Fellowship program in the 1950's to recognize and support outstanding graduate students. The IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Awards Program is an intensely competitive worldwide program, which honors exceptional Ph.D. students who have an interest in solving problems that are important to IBM and fundamental to innovation in many academic disciplines and areas of study. This includes pioneering work in: cognitive computing and augmented intelligence; quantum computing; blockchain; data-centric systems; advanced analytics; security; radical cloud innovation; next-generation silicon (and beyond); and brain-inspired devices and infrastructure.

Congratulations to 2017 IBM Ph.D. Fellows!

Iftekhar Ahmed, Oregon State University

Umair Ahmed, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kanpur

Khalid Al Khatib, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

Arturs Backurs, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Radu Baltean-Lugojan, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London

Sarah Adel Bargal, Boston University

Maruf Bhuiyan, Yale University

Tathagata Chakraborti, Arizona State University

Michael Coblenz, Carnegie Mellon University

Gal Dalal, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Jose Manuel del Pino Fernández, Universidad Europea de Madrid

Tesca Fitzgerald, Georgia Institute of Technology

Shruti Gandhi, North Carolina State University

Badih Ghazi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ahmed Elgohary Ghoneim, University of Maryland College Park

Hagit Grushka-Cohen, Ben-Gurion University

Hui Guan, North Carolina State University

Zhiting Hu, Carnegie Mellon University

Oana Inel, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Cristina Kadar, ETHZ - Federal Institute of Technology Zürich

Elias Khalil, Georgia Institute of Technology

Eleftherios Kokoris-Kogias, EPFL - Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne

Jie Liu, Lehigh University

Pengfei Liu, Fudan University

Huoran Li, Peking University

Jiajia Li, Georgia Institute of Technology

Eduardo Luz, Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto

Lingjuan Lyu, University of Melbourne

Keisuke Maeda, Hokkaido University

Pascal Nieters, Universität Osnabrück

Sikhar Patranabis, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kharagpur

Liat Peterfreund, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Max Plauth, Universität Potsdam

Neelam Prabhu Gaunkar, Iowa State University

Ankur Sarker, University of Virginia

Nandakumar Sasidharan Rajalekshmi, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Neha Sengupta, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Delhi

Sonia Soubam, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi (IIIT-D)

Emma Strubell, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Harish Sukhwani, Duke University

Uttam Thakore, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Michael Võssing, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Robert Walecki, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London

Yichen Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology

Zhe Wan, University of California-Los Angeles

Yong Yang, Peking University

Jialun Yin, Tsinghua University

Theodore Yoder, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Wenting Zheng, University of California-Berkeley

Shuo Zhou, University of Melbourne

Interested in applying for next year? Nominations from faculty advisors are accepted in September and October; ask your faculty advisor if they are planning to participate.